Saturday, April 30, 2011

Boston Symphony Orchestra-April 29, 2011

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos and Simon Trpceski
Stu Rosner/photo

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos conducted the Boston Symphony Orchestra in a program of Reger, Liszt and Ravel.

Reger  Variations and Fugue on a Theme of 

Liszt    Piano Concerto No. 2 in A
            Simon Trpceski, pianist

Ravel   "Bolero"

For me the highlight of the concert was the stellar performance of Simon Trpceski, a national hero in  his native Macedonia, in Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 2 in A.  It was a stunning rendition, beautifully complemented by Frübeck de Burgos and the BSO.

Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos gestures to the orchestra to acknowledge the sustained applause at the end of the performance of Ravel's "Bolero."

 Jeremy Eichler of the Boston Globe describes Trpceski's interpretation as a "fresh path to Liszt."  For Eichler's review,
click here:

Jan Simon-pianist; Vladimir Valek-conductor;  
The Prague Symphony Orchestra in Liszt's Piano Concerto No. 2 in A

No comments:

Post a Comment